Nagaland – At a glance

nagaland_kisamaKohima, Nagaland, India[/googleMap]Nagaland is bounded by Assam in the west, Myanamar (Formerly Burma) on the east, Arunachal Pradesh and parts of Assam on the north and Manipur in the south. Nagaland consists of 11 administrative districts, inhabited by 16 major tribes along with other sub-tribes. As everywhere else, each tribe has its own language, custom and dress code. Each of this 16 tribes and the other sub tribes can easily be distinguished by the dresses/costumes, jewellery pattern and beads that they wear, though a huge transition can be observed in the present generation of Naga’s who made a timely fusion of modern day fashion and their ancestral custom wear.
British rule was established over in Nagaland by the 1890s, and headhunting, then a traditional practice, was outlawed. The Naga territory remained split between Assam and the North East Frontier Agency after Indian independence in 1947, despite a vocal movement advocating the political union of all the Naga tribes; one faction called for secession from India. In 1957, following violent incidents, the Indian government established a single Naga administrative unit under Indian rule. The Naga people responded by refusing to pay their taxes and by conducting a campaign of sabotage. In 1960 the Indian government agreed to make Nagaland a self-governing state within India; the state was officially inaugurated in 1st December, 1963, as the 16th State of the Indian Union. Naga separatists, however, continued to show violent opposition; they have been demanding autonomy and creation of a single administrative unit comprising all the Naga inhabited areas spanning across some of the north eastern states.

The terrain of Nagaland is hilly, rugged and mountainous. The average height of the peaks is between 900 and 1200 metres. The highest peak is Saramati in the Twensang district which is 3840 metres above sea-level. The main rivers that flow through the state are Melak, Dhansiri, Doyang, Tizu and Dikhu. There is no waterfall in Nagaland. The only lake well known is Lacham to the east of Mehiri. The hill sides are covered with green forests. Nagaland has a single-chamber Legislative Assembly with 60 seats and it sends one member each to the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha.

Nagaland is located approximately between 25°6′ and 27°4′ latitude, North of Equator and between the longitudinal lines 93°20’E and 95°15’E. The State Capital is Kohima (1444.12 mts above sea level) and yes, though its mainly tribal area the Official Language is English. The main tribes here are Angami, Ao, Chakhesang, Chang, Khiamniungan, Kuki, Konyak, Lotha, Phom, Pochury, Rengma, Sumi, Sangtam, Yimchungru, Zeliang.

Entry formalities in Nagaland

Domestic tourists visiting Nagaland are required to obtain Inner Line Permits (ILP), issued at the following places on payment of adequate fees.

Delhi :
Deputy Resident Commissioner, Nagaland House, 29-Aurangzeb Road, New Delhi, Ph: (011)23794680/23792471

Kolkata :
Assistant Resident Commissioner, Nagaland House, 11, Shakespear Sarani, Kolkata, Ph: (033)22825226/22828118

Guwahati :
Deputy Resident Commissioner, Nagaland House, Sachel Road, 6 Mile, Khanapara, Guwahati. Ph: (0361) 2332158/2338426/2337724

Shillong :
Assistant Resident Commissioner, Nagaland House Nongrin Hills, Shillong. Ph: (0364) 2520083/2520670

Secretary to Government of Nagaland
Department of Tourism, Kohima- 797001, Nagaland
Tel: 0370- 270107, Fax: 0370- 222289

Director: Directorate of Tourism
Kohima- 797001, Nagaland.
Tel: 0370- 223680, Telefax: 0370- 222214

ILP is also issued by Deputy Commissioner, Dimar, Kohima and Mokokchung.

Foreign Tourists must obtain Protected Area Permit (PAP). They are allowed to visit the eleven district headquarters and specified places for a period of thirty days. Married couples and group of four persons or more permit can be issued by Resident Commissioner Office, nagaland House, Delhi, Home Commissioner and Commissioner Secretary to Tourism, Govt. Of Nagaland. But for individual / two persons or three persons – they will have to obtain PAP from Ministry of Home Affairs.

However, Nationals of Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afganistan, Sri Lanka, China and Myanmer have to get prior approval from Ministry of Home Affair, Govt. of India.

Getting there:
Air: The state is well connected by air with Kolkata and Guwahati. There are also daily flights from Delhi and a few other points are likely to launched shortly.

Rail: The state is also well connected with railways via Guwahati. There is  a Daily Train from Kolkata and Delhi. Direct trains from Delhi viz Rajdhani Express and Brahmaputra Mail and a few major cities are also available.

Road: National Highway no. 36 and 39 connects Dimapur to rest of the country via Guwahati. All important towns and villages are well connected by Nagaland State Transport Bus services from Dimapur.

Tourist Villages
Tuophema and Khonoma in Kohima district and Chuchuyimlang village under Mokokchung District are prominent tourist villages in the state of Nagaland. All these three villages accommodates tourists in their traditional Naga huts which though have a ethnic look but provides modern amenities and facilities.

The major festival of Nagaland is hornbill festival which is being celebrated in the State Capital from 1st to 7th December every year. All the sixteen major tribes in the State participate in the event and exhibit their traditions, culture, costumes and much more about their tribes. This event not only allow each tribes to display their excel, but also gives wide opportunity for the young generation to learn more about other tribes. A favourite event amongst tourists, this festival is celebrated at Naga Heritage Village, Kisama, which is about 12 kms from Kohima.

Click here for the Map of Nagaland

Recent Entries

4 Responses to “Nagaland – At a glance”

  1. admin Says:

    Few more info on Nagaland:
    Location:Approxiamately lies between 25.6 & 27.4 latitude, north of Equator and between the longitudinal lines 93.20 E & 95.15E.

    Area:16527 sq. km.

    Capital:Kohima (1444.12 mts above sea level)

    Districts – Dimapur, Kiphire, Kohima, Longleng, Mokokchung, Mon, Peren, Phek, Tuensang, Wokha and Zunheboto.

    Tribes : Angami, Sema, Ao, lotha, Chakhesang, Sangtam, Khiamniungan, Phom, Chang, Kachari, Pochury, Rengma, Yimchumger, Zeilang, Kuku and Konyak.

    Literacy rate : 67.11 %

    Density of population : 120 persons per sq. km.

    Best Season to visit : October to May

    Average Rainfall : 2000 mm to 2500 mm

    Main Rivers : Dhansiri, Doyang, Dikhu, Milak, Tizu and Zungki.

    Highest Peak : Saramati (3841 mts above sea level)

    Language spoken : English, Hindi, Nagamese and local dialects.

    Religions : Christianity, Hinduism and Islam.

    Website :

  2. learndrums Says:

    good morning, awesome post.

  3. kansas Says:

    Practically all write-ups on this web site has been effectively formulated and has been very educational. It’s depressing that many weblogs are not as beneficial as this 1.

  4. Astrid Frere Says:

    Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been running a blog for? You made blogging appear to be easy. The entire feel of your site is excellent, let alone the content material!

Leave a Reply